May 09, 2016

Book blogging Hiatus

Sorry for the lack of posts friends. :)
I've been on a hiatus for personal reasons if you do need to contact me feel free to message me on twitter or through emails. :)

Thanks!
-Carrie
Blogger Tricks
Blogger Tricks

October 27, 2015

eARC Review: Walk Through Fire (Chaos #4) by Kristen Ashley

Title: Walk Through Fire
Series: Chaos # 4
Author: Kristen Ashley
Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)
Source: NetGalley ARC
Expected Publication: October 27, 2015

Amazon | Goodreads |

My Rating:

The flame never dies . . . Millie Cross knows what it's like to burn for someone. She was young and wild and he was fierce and even wilder-a Chaos biker who made her heart pound. They fell in love at first sight and life was good, until she learned she couldn't be the woman he needed and made it so he had no choice but to walk away. Twenty years later, Millie's chance run-in with her old flame sparks a desire she just can't ignore. And this time, she won't let him ride off . . .

Bad boy Logan "High" Judd has seen his share of troubles with the law. Yet it was a beautiful woman who broke him. After ending a loveless marriage, High is shocked when his true love walks back into his life. Millie is still gorgeous, but she's just a ghost of her former self. High's intrigued at the change, but her betrayal cut him deep-and he doesn't want to get burned again. As High sinks into meting out vengeance for Millie's betrayal, he'll break all over again when he realizes just how Millie walked through fire for her man . . .

OMG!!!!!!!!!! A NEW CHAOS BOOK!!
Thank you, thank you, thank you Grand Central Publishing for the ARC!

So if ya'll haven't noticed I was over the moon when I received an arc of this book because I totally loved the previous book of this series which was Ride Steady. (In my opinion Kristen Ashley's best book) In general the Chaos series is my favorite series by Kristen Ashley (yes, I liked it better than Rock Chick, don't kill me!)


 This book was another book about second chances at love by Kristen Ashley. Before the blurb was released I was really hoping it was Rush's book but alas, I guess it isn't his time yet.

Logan "High" Judd, the hero of the story, is one of the members of Chaos that were part of their dark and dangerous days. [read Motorcycle Man] Millie Cross was his first love and considered old lady in those days. They were living the life, both in love until one day she decides it's time to end it all.

20 years later she spots him and still hasn't moved on. Millie decides she wants to set things straight with High and tell him the truth about why she made that decision years before. What they both don't realize is that their time is not yet over- or maybe never was.

This book, it was so crazy emotionally overwhelming in some parts that my first advice to you readers would be to get your tissues ready and expect the waterworks to come at some parts. (I will not divulge, no to spoilers!)

So why I'm giving this book a four star rating? I enjoyed the story but found it at a lot of times dragging or too prolonged at some parts. I mean there were scenes which ran until three chapters long but honestly could've been placed in one so I was getting antsy about those parts. Also, it was very anticlimactic after the main parts of the characters reuniting. Don't kill me people! I guess High and Millie's story just wasn't for me. I honestly didn't enjoy it as much as I did Joker's and Carrie's story (Ride Steady) but I would most definitely recommend it to anyone interested in romance books.

I am so looking forward to the next stories out of this series because let's just say, in this book we learn a lot of new future "possible' romances coming with the other members of Chaos!

Peace! 'Til the next Book Review! :)
I will most likely be doing more fantasy-scifi books since those were the ones sent to me this month. :)

Follow me on BlogLovin

October 15, 2015

Lev (Shot Callers #1) by Belle Aurora

Title: Lev
Series: Shot Callers #1
Author: Belle Aurora
Source: eARC directly from the author
Rating:

From the moment Lev Leokov spots the young woman hiding behind her hair in the middle of the gentleman's club, he can't take his eyes off of her.
For the very first time in his life, he is affected. Having been told his entire life that he can't process or understand emotion, he considers it a big deal.

When Mina Harris gets caught red-handed with a wallet that isn't hers, she falls apart. She's tired, lonely and hasn't eaten in days.

Lev offers her an ultimatum... A nice warm bed, a hot meal and a job, or the cops.

Mina takes her chances with Lev.
After all, a person with nothing has nothing left to lose.
 
  First and foremost I'd like to thank the author, Belle Aurora very much for an advance readers copy of this book.
I will admit I haven't been that updated with my Belle Aurora book but I've been a fan of hers ever since I started the Friend Zoned series and of course we cannot forget RAW but I digress, we're here to discuss this new book of hers, LEV- so let's do this!

I started this book knowing nothing about it. I didn't even read the blurb. It was like new Belle Aurora book. Check. MUST. READ. Check.

We start this book with Mina Harris a young girl who is basically at the lowest of low in her life. She is a runaway orphan who is living off the street struggling to even get her next meal. She becomes so desperate because of her hunger that she ends up at a local strip club where she decides to do something drastic. Something so out of character for her- to steal. Now she is basically no inexperienced at this that she doesn't notice the guy across the bar watching her captivated by her secret beauty. So, she nabs the wallet thinking she's invisible and that's when she goes head to head with our hottie hero Mr. Lev Leokov.

Yups ladies and gents. Lev Leokov. He is the hottie dark hero of this story. Ever since he was young Lev understood that he was different anyone who knew him knew there was just something different about him. He was a recluse, unemotional, and silent boy. His sister and brother always kept an eye on him and helped him adjust to societal norms being his guardian angels. He is immediately drawn to this shy, quiet and damaged girl. From that first meeting on things unravel and we see the true Lev Leokov the sweet, possessive and adorably protective man. He thinks he doesn't show emotion and cannot care for anyone else but throughout the story we see a different man come to pass.

His eyes roamed my fresh face. "You can't hude behind make-up. You can try, but you won't succeed. Not with me." He paused then said "I see you" 

He crossed his arms over a broad chest. "Masks don't suit a person with your face." 
"My face?" I asked. 
"A face like yours makes men stumble over themselves." He titled his head to look at me through a new angle. "Faces like yours are carved into statues, immortalized in stone for the world to see over the ages." He let in a deep breath then exhaled slowly. "You...are art." 

 I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It reminded me in a lot of instances of the first book of Friend Zoned series. Not to mention that this is sort of a spin-off of of that series. (You'll understand in the ending) It was intriguing, steamy and you easily fall in love with the characters. I was especially intrigued with the supporting characters and their hopefully future stories. But there were parts of the book where I felt like the writing was rushed but at the beginning of the book there came a point where I felt it a bit dragging specially the first few chapters and some in the middle. But overall I loved it. It was so sweet. I loved getting into Lev's psyche so I was really into the parts where it was Lev's POV.


I totally recommend this book to everyone who enjoy reading contemporary romances or those fond of realistic fiction books. :)
Anyway, til the next review. Peace!
xoxo
Carrie


Follow me on BlogLovin

October 06, 2015

Review: The Piano Man Project by Kat French

Title: The Piano Man Project
Author: Kat French
edition: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Publisher: Avon 
pages: 400
Goodreads | Amazon |

My rating:

A delightfully romantic, heartwarming read for everyone who’s ever looked for The One and found someone better.


You: kind, piano-playing sex god
Me: hopelessly romantic charity shop manager


Honeysuckle Jones has a problem, and her best friends Nell and Tash are on a mission to help her solve it. She needs a man – a caring, intelligent, funny man. But most importantly, a man who’s good with his hands…


Luckily Honey’s new neighbour – moody, antisocial ex-chef Hal – fails on almost every count. Even though the chemistry between them is electric, he’s obviously wrong for her in every way.


But when Honey discovers the devastating reason for his moods she decides to give him another chance. And discovers that the best songs aren’t always in tune…


A hilarious, feel-good, sexy romantic comedy for fans of Lucy Diamond, Paige Toon and Giovanna Fletcher.
I got this book awhile back on Netgalley to review. I will admit I got it based on it's cover. Yes, I know, I know. Don't judge a book by it's cover. Well, I must say I'm happy I picked it up it was such a sweet, witty and hilarious contemporary read. The book for me went by so fast because I was totally engrossed in the story.

Honeysuckle's friends keep trying to set her up to find her a man. Well, what they don't know is the perfect man for her is living right next door. I was very intrigued with the character that is, Hal. He is so rude, anti-social, mean, moody and he is a recluse also, he's a genius chef. Honeysuckle ends up trying to help him after finding out his secret and story behind why he is the way he is now. And in the end she basically teaches him to regain his empathy and learn to appreciate another human being. She teaches him to be not be so pitying and self centered towards himself. It's an awesome read and so funny. The writing was so good. Anyway, if you want a book that will leave your heart a thump thump thump-ing and your belly jiggling from all the laughs you'll get from this story go pick it up! highly recommend it.

 Follow me on BlogLovin